Thompson and Ariitu impress

Thompson and Ariitu impress
By Eurosport

19/07/2012 at 07:34Updated 19/07/2012 at 19:28

Evan Thompson posted the highest score as round two of the Quiksilver Surf Open Acapulco was completed on Wednesday.

With part of the round of 96 taking place after the first round on Tuesday, the remainder of the programme finished with Floridan Thompson managing an 8.17/10 in a dominant heat win.

He drove through a racy barrel before finishing with two power-turns, comfortably seeing off Nic Hdez, David Rutherford and Kalani David,

“I figured it was kind of slow and there are a lot of close outs, so my game plan was to just catch waves that weren’t closing out and do as many turns as I could,” Thompson said.

“Finally I got lucky with that little barrel and I figured if I could make that it’d be a pretty good score.”

That was the highest single-wave score, but Tahiti’s Enrique Ariitu took a combined heat total of 14.67/20.

“It’s all you could to on the waves out there, to do airs,” Ariitu said. “It worked for me in that heat. It’s my first time to Mexico and I’m trying to do some comps and get some results."

The first four heats had been completed on Tuesday, with Oliver Kurtz posting an 8.83.

The third round should start on Thursday, conditions permitting.

Wednesday's round of 96 results:

Heat 5: Brett Barley (USA) 10.10, Dylan Southworth (MEX) 8.13, Sasha Donnanno (MEX) 7.93, Jose Jimenez (MEX) 4.80

Heat 6: Michael Velasco (USA) 9.23, Adrian Rodriguez (MEX) 5.80, Giovani Benitez (VEN) 5.63, Schuyler Allen (HAW) 5.33

Heat 7: Evan Thompson (USA) 14.10, Nic Hdez (USA) 8.17, David Rutherford (MEX) 5.87, Kalani David (HAW) 5.30

Heat 8: Blas Bacardo (MEX) 14.84, Diego Cadena (MEX) 11.20, Kaimana Jaquias (HAW) 6.87, Julio Nurse (VEN) 2.57

Heat 9: Morgan Faulkner (HAW) 7.17, Landon McNamara (HAW) 6.37, Alvaro Malpartida (PER) 4.90, Colin Saunders (VEN) 3.33

Heat 10: Rafael Pereira (VEN) 9.00, Jean Schaffer (VEN) 8.80, Adam Goldstone (USA) 6.70, Quetzal Estrada (MEX) 6.04

Heat 11: Nathan Carvalho (HAW) 10.17, Colt Ward (USA) 9.50, Keto Burns (USA) 7.17, Adan Hernandez (MEX) 5.16

Heat 12: Fisher Heverly (USA) 13.00, Alan Saulo (BRA) 9.17, Aldahir Cruz (MEX) 5.17, Anthony Abarca Fillingim (CRI) 4.62

Heat 13: Enrique Aritu (PYF) 14.67, Hunter Lysaught (USA) 7.56, Danny Bishko (CRI) 6.20, Roberto Olguin (MEX) 4.40

Heat 14: Travis Southworth (MEX) 8.20, Cesar Petroni (MEX) 6.80, Julio Quinones Camacho (MEX) 6.40, Victor Coppolone (VEN) 5.90

Heat 15: Ricky Whitlock (USA) 6.90, Sebastian Correa (PER) 5.57, Alex Kamkoff (USA) 5.16, Abel Estopin (MEX) 4.50

Heat 16: Chris Tucker (USA) 9.90, Marcelo Rodriguez (ARG) 8.03, MAkana Eleogram (HAW) 7.56, Tazaui Poo (MEX) 5.07