Seventh lay day called in Tahiti

Seventh lay day called in Tahiti
By Eurosport

25/08/2012 at 12:50Updated 25/08/2012 at 12:52

As with the previous six days, Billabong Pro Tahiti organisers were forced to call another lay day with insufficient waves for competition on offer at Teahupo'o.

"Small surf again today for we’ve called a lay day for the Billabong Pro,” Rich Porta, ASP international head judge, said.

"We expect surf to fill in this afternoon and through the next few days. We’ll be back to make another call tomorrow."

When the event does get back under way, round three will see some of the biggest names in surfing in action.

Round three match-ups:

Heat 1: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)

Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)

Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Kai Ottonn (AUS)

Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)

Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)

Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)

Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)

Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)

Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)

Heat 10: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)

Heat 11: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)

Heat 12: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)