Home surfers through at Mr Price Pro Ballito

Home surfers through at Mr Price Pro Ballito
By Eurosport

04/07/2012 at 02:05Updated 04/07/2012 at 19:01

Host country South Africa boasted four surfers from five through to the second round of the Mr Price Pro Ballito after the opening nine heats, including world number 24 Travis Logie.

Logie remained calm with his wave selection to leap from fourth spot into first in the final minutes of his heat at Willards Beach, up the coast from Durban.

"It was a really tough heat, I think everyone had a pretty good score before I even took off on a wave," Logie said.

"I was getting a bit stressed out towards the end but I managed to get a set wave followed by another good one on the inside and pretty much held the lead to the end."

Fellow South African Beyrick De Vries, a wildcard, also progressed from that heat.

"Ballito is pretty close to home, so I feel really comfortable out there," De Vries said. "I’ve struggled to get into Star events this year so earning a wildcard from the ASP was a massive help and I’m really stoked to get through."

Local knowledge was important in clever positioning for the inconsistent one-metre waves.

Another home surfer Shaun Joubert – equal ninth in the competition last year – made it through in second spot in his heat against a trio of Australian opponents.

"It was tough out there, there weren’t many waves but when they came, they were fun," Joubert said. "I’ve been slugging away on the Star Tour all year so it’s great to have an event at home.

"My aim is just to get on that World Tour as soon as possible."

Bernado Miranda of Brazil posted the highest score of the day.

"The conditions were ok, it was windy but there were still a few fun rides and if you got a good one you could do three of four turns," Miranda said.

“I had some very experienced surfers in my heat, so I just tried to pick the best waves.”

Miranda eliminated Charles Martin, Brendon Gibbens and ASP world No.18 Brett Simpson.

Onshore winds and a high tide forced a postponement of the action before the remainder of the 24 heats could take place.

Round of 96 results:

Heat 1

1 11.60 Tiago Pires PRT

3 10.16 Yuri Sodre BRA

4 9.20 Gony Zubizarreta ESP

2 10.40 Chad Du Toit ZAF

Heat: 2

2 13.56 Wiggolly Dantas BRA

3 12.77 Tanner Gudauskas USA

4 8.30 Tim Reyes USA

1 13.93 Masatoshi Ohno JPN


4 5.37 Jean Da Silva BRA

1 13.67 Tomas Hermes BRA

2 12.60 Stu Kennedy AUS

3 11.33 Conner Coffin USA

Heat 4

1 13.70 Travis Logie ZAF

3 11.33 Mason Ho HAW

4 10.74 Flavio Nakagima BRA

2 12.17 Beyrick De Vries ZAF

Heat 5

3 9.47 Adam Melling AUS

4 7.53 Perth Standlick AUS

2 11.47 Shaun Joubert ZAF

1 12.70 Nathan Hedge AUS

Heat 6

2 11.50 Olamana Eleogram HAW

3 9.27 Ricardo Dos Santos BRA

1 13.44 Nathaniel Curran USA

4 4.63 Kevin Sullivan HAW

Heat 7

1 14.57 Brian Toth PRI

4 8.00 Hizunome Bettero BRA

3 11.74 Marlon Lipke DEU

2 13.34 Garrett Parkes AUS

Heat 8

4 7.40 Brett Simpson USA

2 14.40 Charles Martin GLP

1 17.10 Bernardo Miranda BRA

3 11.07 Brendon Gibbens ZAF

Heat 9

2 13.66 Jadson Andre BRA

3 12.00 Mitch Crews AUS

4 11.17 Aritz Aranburu EUK

1 14.50 Torrey Meister HAW

Remaining round of 96 match-ups:

Heat 10

Patrick Gudauskas USA

Nic Muscroft AUS

Royden Bryson ZAF

Eric Geiselman USA

Heat 11

Joan Duru FRA

Granger Larsen HAW

Leonardo Neves BRA

Charlie Brown BRA

Heat 12

Adriano De Souza BRA

Marc Lacomare FRA

Lincoln Taylor AUS

David Weare ZAF

Heat 13

Jordy Smith ZAF

Kai Barger HAW

Alain Riou PYF

Michael February ZAF

Heat 14

Chris Ward USA

Alex Ribeiro BRA

Ricardo Christie NZL

Hodei Collazo EUK

Heat 15

Willian Cardoso BRA

Romain Cloitre FRA

Heath Joske AUS

Peterson Crisanto BRA

Heat 16

Yadin Nicol AUS

Mitchel Coleborn AUS

Kiron Jabour HAW

Davey Cathels AUS

Heat 17

Damien Hobgood USA

Jesse Mendes BRA

Thiago Camarao BRA

Rudy Palmboom ZAF

Heat 18

Nathan Yeomans USA

Tom Whitaker AUS

Jack Freestone AUS

Jeronimo Vargas BRA

Heat 19

Nat Young USA

Dion Atkinson AUS

Messias Felix BRA

Brandon Jackson ZAF

Heat 20

CJ Hobgood USA

Jay Quinn NZL

Adrien Toyon FRA

Greg Emslie ZAF

Heat 21

Matt Wilkinson AUS

Billy Stairmand NZL

Luke Davis USA

David do Carmo BRA

Heat 22

Glenn Hall IRL

Jonathan Gonzalez CNY

Jano Belo BRA

Yujiro Tsuji JPN

Heat 23

Gabe Kling USA

Sebastien Zietz HAW

Dale Staples ZAF

Caio Ibelli BRA

Heat 24

Alejo Muniz BRA

Chris Friend AUS

Gabriel Villaran PER

Steven Sawyer ZAF