Sykes storms to pole at Misano

Sykes storms to pole at Misano
By Eurosport

10/06/2012 at 01:58Updated

Tom Sykes stormed to take Superpole for the Superbike World Championship race at Misano, with several big names dropping out of the reckoning early.

In wet conditions that saw the session split into two 20-minute phases, the Kawasaki Racing Team rider registered a fastest lap of one minute 35.375 seconds, comfortably the quickest time of the weekend so far and bringing home his fifth Superpole win of the season.

    Fellow Briton Jonathan Rea (Honda WSBK) was second-fastest with a time of 1:35.991, with Italy's Ayrton Badovani (BMW Italia Goldbet) third in 1:36.083.

    Neither world championship leader Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing) or second-ranked Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad) made it out of the first Superpole session.

    Biaggi will start to first race in the third row, with Melandri in the row behind alongside Carlos Checa, another casualty of Superpole 1.

    1. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 35.375s
    2. Jonathan Rea GBR Honda WSBK CBR1000RR 1m 35.991s
    3. Ayrton Badovini ITA BMW Italia Goldbet S1000RR 1m 36.083s
    4. Davide Giugliano ITA Althea Ducati 1098R 1m 36.147s
    5. Jakub Smrz CZE Liberty Effenbert Ducati 1098R 1m 36.183s
    6. Leon Haslam GBR BMW Motorrad S1000RR 1m 36.283s
    7. Eugene Laverty IRL Aprilia Racing RSV-4 1m 37.365s
    8. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Effenbert Liberty Ducati 1098R 1m 36.559s 

    Did not progress to Superpole 2

    9. Matteo Baiocco ITA Barni Ducati 1098R 1m 37.509s
    10. Max Biaggi ITA Aprilia Racing RSV-4 1m 37.686s
    11. Loris Baz FRA Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 37.704s
    12. Michel Fabrizio ITA BMW Italia Goldbet S1000RR 1m 37.796s 
    13. Marco Melandri ITA BMW Motorrad S1000RR 1m 37.806s
    14. Leon Camier GBR FIXI Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 1m 37.985s
    15. Lorenzo Zanetti ITA PATA Ducati 1098R 1m 38.078s
    16. Carlos Checa ESP Althea Ducati 1098R 1m 38.977s

    Did not progress to Superpole

    17. Maxime Berger FRA Effenbert Liberty Ducati 1098R 1m 36.934s
    18. John Hopkins USA FIXI Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 1m 37.168s
    19. Niccolo Canepa ITA Red Devils Ducati 1098R 1m 37.202s
    20. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Honda WSBK CBR1000RR 1m 37.250s
    21. Chaz Davies GBR ParkinGO MTC Aprilia RSV-4 1m 37.312s
    22. David Salom ESP Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 37.688s
    23. Leandro Mercado ARG Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 38.674s
    24. Federico Sandi ITA Grillini Progea BMW S1000RR 1m 40.251s