From Official Website

Checa on top after first qualifying

Checa on top after first qualifying
By Eurosport

09/06/2012 at 01:02Updated 09/06/2012 at 01:10

Carlos Checa led the timesheets after a tight first qualifying session for the World Superbike race at Misano.

The Althea Racing Ducati river finished 0.047 seconds ahead of Honda’s Jonathan Rea, with Aprilia Racing Team’s Max Biaggi third.

    Marco Melandri, who had been fastest in free practice, was fourth on his BMW.

    Checa’s team-mate Davide Giugliano was fifth, with Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) sixth on his Ducati.

    French rider Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) was the top Kawasaki competitor in seventh.

    The top 18 riders were separated by only 1.093 seconds.

    First qualifying times:

    1. Carlos Checa ESP Althea Ducati 1098R 1m 36.521s

    2. Jonathan Rea GBR Honda WSBK CBR1000RR 1m 36.568s

    3. Max Biaggi ITA Aprilia Racing RSV-4 1m 36.703s

    4. Marco Melandri ITA BMW Motorrad S1000RR 1m 36.795s

    5. Davide Giugliano ITA Althea Ducati 1098R 1m 36.806s

    6. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Effenbert Liberty Ducati 1098R 1m 36.829s

    7. Loris Baz FRA Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 36.957s

    8. Leon Haslam GBR BMW Motorrad S1000RR 1m 37.009s

    9. Jakub Smrz CZE Liberty Effenbert Ducati 1098R 1m 37.022s

    10. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 37.044s

    11. Leon Camier GBR FIXI Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 1m 37.280s

    12. Ayrton Badovini ITA BMW Italia Goldbet S1000RR 1m 37.295s

    13. Eugene Laverty IRL Aprilia Racing RSV-4 1m 37.340s

    14. Lorenzo Zanetti ITA PATA Ducati 1098R 1m 37.406s

    15. Niccolo Canepa ITA Red Devils Ducati 1098R 1m 37.439s

    16. John Hopkins USA FIXI Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 1m 37.514s

    17. Matteo Baiocco ITA Barni Ducati 1098R 1m 37.523s

    18. Michel Fabrizio ITA BMW Italia Goldbet S1000RR 1m 37.614s

    19. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Honda WSBK CBR1000RR 1m 37.733s

    20. David Salom ESP Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 37.948s

    21. Chaz Davies GBR ParkinGO MTC Aprilia RSV-4 1m 38.112s

    22. Maxime Berger FRA Effenbert Liberty Ducati 1098R 1m 38.198s

    23. Leandro Mercado ARG Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 39.038s

    24. Federico Sandi ITA Grillini Progea BMW S1000RR 1m 40.251s