Yupeng advances

Yupeng advances in Goldfields qualifying
By Eurosport

13/06/2012 at 08:41Updated 13/06/2012 at 08:42

Round-up: Cao Yupeng defeated Paul Davison 5-2 in the first round of qualifiers for the Australian Goldfields Open at the World Snooker Academy in Sheffield.

The Chinese player, whose victory over Mark Allen at the World Snooker Championships in the Steel City last month led to the Northern Irishman picking up a £10,000 fine for branding Yupeng a “cheat”, will met Alfie Burden in his next qualifier on Wednesday.

Elsewhere in opening round action, Thepchaiya Un-Nooh of Thailand whitewashed Allan Taylor 5-0 to book a match with Adam Duffy while compatriot Thanawat Tirepondpaiboon advanced with a 5-1 win over Adrian Gunnell and will meet Craig Stedman.

Michael Wild and Robbie Williams each progressed unblemished against Daniel Wells and Ben Judge respectively. Wild is up against Simon Bedford on Wednesday while Williams goes on to play Kurt Maffin.

Meanwhile, Hossein Vafaei Ayouri, Iran’s first professional snooker player, has withdrawn for a second consecutive qualifying tournament before his scheduled first round tie against Mitchell Mann.

Sam Baird secured a 5-0 drubbing over Jamie O’Neill in the afternoon session, while Michael Wasley and Tian Pengfei triumphed 5-1 against Chen Zhe and Joel Walker, respectively.

Fraser Patrick ousted Zhang Anda with a 5-3 victory, and Ian Burns also prevailed, beating Sean O’Sullivan 5-2.

The first round of qualifying concluded in the evening session, with 17-year-old Belgian Luca Brecel falling 5-4 to Rod Lawler.

Round one results:

Thepchaiya Un-Nooh 5-0 Allan Taylor

Hossein Vafaei Ayouri v Mitchell Mann w/o

Ben Judge 0-5 Robbie Williams

Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon 5-1 Adrian Gunnell

Daniel Wells 0-5 Michael Wild

Cao Yupeng 5-2 Paul Davison

Sam Baird 5-0 Jamie O'Neill

Chen Zhe 1-5 Michael Wasley

Tian Pengfei 5-1 Joel Walker

Zhang Anda 3-5 Fraser Patrick

Ian Burns 5-2 Sean O'Sullivan

Michael Leslie 2-5 Duane Jones

Aditya Mehta 5-2 Lee Spick

Pankaj Advani 5-1 Justin Astley

Luca Brecel 4-5 Rod Lawler

Martin O'Donnell 5-2 Jeff Cundy