White makes it to Poland

White makes it to Poland
By Eurosport

18/08/2012 at 13:49Updated 18/08/2012 at 19:33

Jimmy White won through to the final stages of the Gdynia Open as fellow veterans Steve Davis and Tony Drago dropped out of contention in Sheffield.

Former world number two White benefited from a walkover in his scheduled second round match against Mohamed Khairy before he stepped up to the table to beat Andrew Norman 4-3 at the World Snooker Academy.

White's victory sees him progress into the round of 32, which will played in Gdynia, Poland from October 5-7.

Among those to book join him in booking tickets to Poland were Stephen Maguire, Joe Perry, Liang Wenbo and Neil Robertson.

But Davis was bounced out 4-1 by Jamie Jones and Drago lost 4-2 to Stuart Bingham to end their hopes of reaching Gdynia.

The second half of the draw play on Saturday to determine the remaining 16 places for October's tournament.

Round three results:

Stephen Maguire 4-0 Peter Lines

Jimmy Robertson 3-4 Michael Wasley

Xiao Guodong 0-4 Joe Perry

Robbie Williams 1-4 Mark Davis

Andy Hicks 4-3 David Gilbert

Liang Wenbo 4-1 Mark Allen

Zhang Anda 2-4 Dave Harold

Jimmy White 4-3 Andrew Norman

Anthony McGill 4-2 Matthew Day

Tian Pengfei 4-2 Pankaj Advani

Allan Taylor 3-1 Cao Yupeng

Tony Drago 2-4 Stuart Bingham

Ben Woollaston 4-3 Paul Davison

Martin Gould 4-0 Barry Pinches

Yu Delu 3-4 Neil Robertson

Jamie Jones 4-1 Steve Davis

Round two results:

Stephen Maguire 4-0 Simon Bedford

Peter Lines 4-0 Phil O'Kane

Jimmy Robertson 4-1 Adam Wicheard

Joel Walker 2-4 Michael Wasley

Xiao Guodong 4-3 Mark King

Joe Perry 4-2 Ashley Carty

Robbie Williams 4-2 Ben Harrison

Jamie Cope 3-4 Mark Davis

Andy Hicks 4-3 Oliver Lines

Matthew Couch 0-4 David Gilbert

Liang Wenbo 4-2 Liam Monk

Anthony Hamilton 2-4 Mark Allen

Liu Chuang 0-4 Zhang Anda

Dave Harold 4-1 Reanne Evans

Jimmy White w/o Mohamed Khairy

Andrew Norman 4-3 Jamie O'Neill

Anthony McGill 4-1 Adrian Gunnell

Jak Jones 1-4 Matthew Day

Ian Burns 2-4 Tian Pengfei

Pankaj Adani 4-3 Daniel Wells

Allan Taylor w/o Hossein Vafaei Ayouri

Cao Yupeng 4-2 Chen Zhe

Li Yan 3-4 Tony Drago

Stuart Bingham 4-0 Marc Davis

Ben Woollaston 4-0 Grzegorz Biernadski

Paul Davison 4-3 John Astley

Ricky Walden 2-4 Martin Gould

Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon 0-4 Barry Pinches

Yu Delu 4-1 Aditya Mehta

Neil Robertson 4-0 Alex Taubman

Barry Hawkins 1-4 Jamie Jones

Steve Davis 4-0 Wiktor Rzezuchowski