From Official Website

Selby starts with win

Selby starts Six-red defence with win
By Eurosport

03/07/2012 at 07:31Updated 03/07/2012 at 18:11

World number one and defending champion Mark Selby opened the Six-red World Championship with a comfortable victory over Shachar Ruberg in Thailand.

Selby, who beat Ricky Walden in the 2010 final, triumphed over the Israeli teenager 5-1 in his first round-robin match at the Montien Riverside Hotel in Bangkok.

The tournament was not held in the 2011-12 season.

Also in Group A are Selby’s fellow Englishman Joe Perry - who beat Andy Lee of Hong Kong 5-0 - and Wales’ Dominic Dale, who beat Ruberg 5-4.

Wuxi Classic winner Walden, meanwhile, got off to an inauspicious start as the world number 10 suffered a 5-3 Group G defeat to local hope Noppon Saengkham.

World number two Judd Trump lost his Group B opener 5-2 to Barry Hawkins, but bounced back with a 5-1 hammering of Issara Kachaiwong.

Snooker legend Jimmy White lost both of his Group F matches 5-3, the first to Stephen Lee and one following to Saleh Mohammad.

Six-times world champion Steve Davis only played the one match and was swept aside 5-1 by Thepchaiya Un-Nooh.

Day one round-robin results:

Morning session:

Group D Stephen Maguire 0-5 Hossein Ayouri

Group A Joe Perry 5-0 Andy Lee

Group B Judd Trump 2-5 Barry Hawkins

Group G Marcus Campbell 5-0 Krzysztof Wrobel

Group F Saleh Mohammad 4-5 Passakorn Suwannawat

Group B Mohamed Khairy 1-5 Rodney Goggins

Group C Peter Ebdon 3-5 Ken Doherty

Group C Li Hang 4-5 Aditya Mehta

Lunchtime session:

Group E Shaun Murphy 4-5 Andrew Higginson

Group B Nick Jennings 2-5 Issara Kachaiwong

Group H Martin Gould 5-2 Panompai Powises

Group D Mohammed Ibrahim 2-5 James Wattana

Group F Stephen Lee 5-3 Jimmy White

Group E Ben Nunan 4-5 Pankaj Advani

Group G Tom Ford 5-1 Noppon Saengkham

Group H Lee Walker 5-4 Zhang Anda

Mid-afternoon session:

Group E Steve Davis 1-5 Thepchaiya Un-Nooh

Group B Barry Hawkins 3-5 Rodney Goggins

Group F Ben Judge 3-5 Passakorn Suwannwat

Group D Mark Davis 5-3 Darren Morgan

Group A Mark Selby 5-1 Shachar Ruberg

Group C Li Hang 1-5 Ken Doherty

Group G Matthew Stevens 5-3 Marcus Campbell

Group A Andy Lee 0-5 Dechewat Poomjaeng

Late afternoon session:

Group C Aditya Mehta 5-4 Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon

Group H Martin Gould 5-4 Zhang Anda

Group D Hossein Ayouri 5-1 Mohammed Ibrahim

Group H Lee Walker 5-4 Marco Fu

Group E Shaun Murphy 5-0 Ben Nunan

Group F Jimmy White 3-5 Saleh Mohammad

Group H Graeme Dott 4-5 Panompai Powises

Group B Nick Jennings 5-3 Mohamed Khairy

Evening session:

Group B Judd Trump 5-1 Issara Kachaiwong

Group C Mark Williams 5-1 Peter Ebdon

Group G Ricky Walden 3-5 Noppon Saengkham

Group F Stuart Bingham 5-1 Ben Judge

Group D Mark Davis 5-4 James Wattana

Group A Dominic Dale 5-4 Shachar Ruberg

Group D Stephen Maguire 3-5 Darren Morgan

Group G Tom Ford 5-3 Krzysztof Wrobel