Selby marches on in Thailand

Share this with
Share this article

Mark Selby is world number one (Imago)

Image credit: Imago

03/07/2012 at 16:25 | Updated 04/07/2012 at 08:03

World number one Mark Selby continued the defence of his Six-red World Championship title with a comfortable 5-1 win over Joe Perry in Bangkok.

Selby then defeated Andy Lee 5-1 in the late-afternoon session with an equally assured and confident display, ensuring his progress from Group A of the round-robin stage.

The 2010 champion - the tournament was not held in the 2011-12 season - has now won all three of his matches in Thailand by the same scoreline.

World Championship

Judd Trump and Ronnie O'Sullivan chase whopping £555,000 for World Championship glory


Judd Trump, the world number two, sealed an even more convincing win as he thrashed Nick Jennings 5-0 in their Group B encounter. He has now won two of his three matches so far.

Veterans Jimmy White and Steve Davis secured fine wins after sluggish starts.

White had lost both of his previous Group F matches, but he responded in fine fashion to overcome Stuart Bingham 5-4 in an impressive win.

It was a nervy victory for White, who desperately needed to hit back after a hugely disappointing start to the group stages. He followed it up with a 5-2 win over Passakorn Suwannawat later in the day.

Davis had no problems in whitewashing Andrew Higginson 5-0 in their Group E match after he too suffered a poor start to the competition.

It was an emphatic win for Davis, who was unwavering in his approach and Higginson was afforded no opportunities to compete.

However, Davis lost his later match against Shaun Murphy as the higher-ranked player ran out a 5-1 winner.

Day two round-robin results:

Morning session:

Group E Thepchaiya Un-Nooh 4-5 Pankaj Advani

Group D Mark Davis 3-5 Hossein Ayouri

Group H Marco Fu 5-3 Panompai Powises

Group G Matthew Stevens 3-5 Noppon Saengkham

Group E Andrew Higginson 0-5 Steve Davis

Group A Dominic Dale 3-5 Andy Lee

Group B Rodney Goggins 5-4 Issara Kachaiwong

Group G Ricky Walden 5-0 Krzysztof Wrobel

Lunchtime session:

Group H Graeme Dott 5-3 Zhang Anda

Group B Judd Trump 5-0 Nick Jennings

Group A Mark Selby 5-1 Joe Perry

Group C Mark Williams 5-4 Aditya Mehta

Group D Mohammed Ibrahim 1-5 Darren Morgan

Group H Martin Gould 4-5 Lee Walker

Group F Stuart Bingham 4-5 Jimmy White

Group F Stephen Lee 5-3 Saleh Mohammad

Mid-afternoon session:

Group G Matthew Stevens 5-2 Krzysztof Wrobel

Group C Ken Doherty 2-5 Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon

Group G Ricky Walden 5-2 Tom Ford

Group A Shachar Ruberg 1-5 Dechawat Poomjaeng

Group C Peter Ebdon 5-2 Li Hang

Group E Andrew Higginson 5-2 Pankaj Advani

Group G Marcus Campbell 4-5 Noppon Saengkham

Group B Barry Hawkins 5-1 Mohamed Khairy

Late afternoon session:

Group F Jimmy White 5-2 Passakorn Suwannawat

Group E Ben Nunan 2-5 Thepchaiya Un-Nooh

Group D Darren Morgan 3-5 James Wattana

Group H Zhang Anda 3-5 Marco Fu

Group H Graeme Dott 3-5 Lee Walker

Group F Stephen Lee 2-5 Stuart Bingham

Group A Mark Selby 5-1 Andy Lee

Group F Ben Judge 4-5 Saleh Mohammad

Evening session:

Group C Mark Williams 5-1 Li Hang

Group E Shaun Murphy 5-1 Steve Davis

Group A Dominic Dale 3-5 Dechawat Poomjaeng

Group C Peter Ebdon 3-5 Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon

Group B Barry Hawkins 4-5 Issara Kachaiwong

Group D Stephen Maguire 5-1 Mohammed Ibrahim

Group A Joe Perry 5-4 Shachar Ruberg

Group C Aditya Mehta 5-2 Ken Doherty

World Championship

What is Ronnie O'Sullivan's favourite Crucible 147 of all time?

World Championship

Ronnie O'Sullivan: 'People thought I was taking the mickey when I started playing left-handed'

Related Topics
Share this with
Share this article