Lorenzo completes practice sweep

Lorenzo completes practice sweep
By AutoSport

14/07/2012 at 19:48Updated 14/07/2012 at 19:52

Jorge Lorenzo completed a clean sweep of Mugello MotoGP practice sessions with another blistering performance on Saturday morning.

The world championship leader produced a 1:47.764 - the fastest ever motorcycle lap of Mugello - just a few minutes into the session, and then soon improved to 1:47.584s.

But despite his impressive pace, Lorenzo was not completely dominant. Dani Pedrosa eventually got to within 0.095 seconds of the Yamaha's pace on the best Honda, while his team-mate Casey Stoner was 0.289s down on Lorenzo in third.

The other Yamahas completed the top six, with works rider Ben Spies just ahead of Tech 3 duo Andrea Dovizioso and Cal Crutchlow. Spies had a run through the gravel at first corner San Donato, but stayed upright.

Leading Ducati rider was Nicky Hayden in seventh. Italian hero Valentino Rossi was back in 10th on the second factory Desmosedici.

Gresini Honda rider Alvaro Bautista had his third crash in as many sessions with a dramatic fall on the way into the long Correntaio right-hander. Bautista was unhurt, but ended the session slower than the flying CRT Aprilia of Aleix Espargaro.


1. Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1m47.584s

2. Daniel Pedrosa Honda 1m47.679s + 0.095s

3. Casey Stoner Honda 1m47.873s + 0.289s

4. Ben Spies Yamaha 1m47.886s + 0.302s

5. Andrea Dovizioso Tech 3 Yamaha 1m48.028s + 0.444s

6. Cal Crutchlow Tech 3 Yamaha 1m48.068s + 0.484s

7. Nicky Hayden Ducati 1m48.189s + 0.605s

8. Hector Barbera Pramac Ducati 1m48.441s + 0.857s

9. Stefan Bradl LCR Honda 1m48.527s + 0.943s

10. Valentino Rossi Ducati 1m48.740s + 1.156s

11. Aleix Espargaro Aspar Aprilia 1m49.234s + 1.650s

12. Alvaro Bautista Gresini Honda 1m49.310s + 1.726s

13. Randy de Puniet Aspar Aprilia 1m49.715s + 2.131s

14. Ivan Silva Avintia Inmotec-Kawasaki 1m50.751s + 3.167s

15. Michele Pirro Gresini FTR-Honda 1m50.962s + 3.378s

16. Danilo Petrucci Ioda-Aprilia 1m51.325s + 3.741s

17. Yonni Hernandez Avintia FTR-Kawasaki 1m51.341s + 3.757s

18. Mattia Pasini Speed Master Aprilia 1m51.587s + 4.003s

19. James Ellison Forward Suter-BMW 1m51.705s + 4.121s

20. Colin Edwards Forward Suter-BMW 1m51.729s + 4.145s