Getty Images

Football news - Luka Modric wins Ballon d’Or to end Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo dominance

Modric wins Ballon d’Or to end Messi and Ronaldo’s decade-long dominance

04/12/2018 at 08:18Updated 04/12/2018 at 08:32

Luka Modric has been crowned the Ballon d’Or 2018 winner, ending Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo’s 10-year domination of the coveted award for the game's best player.

It caps off a memorable year for Modric, who won his third Champions League in a row at Real Madrid before inspiring Croatia to the World Cup final against all odds.

  • Ronaldo second; Messi fifth
  • Griezmann pips Mbappe into third
  • Salah finishes sixth, Kane 10th
  • Scroll down for results in full

Last year's winner Ronaldo finished in second after claiming his fifth Champions League title, while Antoine Griezmann surprisingly pipped compatriot Kylian Mbappe into third following France’s World Cup victory.

Messi came in fifth, making it the first time since 2006 that the five-time winner was not in the top three, while Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah was the highest-placed Premier League player in sixth.

Video - Luka Modric: From goat herding to Ballon d'Or winner



Six of France’s World Cup winners were named in the top 30. Griezmann topped the lot in third, with Mbappe fourth. Raphael Varane (seventh), N’Golo Kante (11th), Paul Pogba (15th) and Hugo Lloris (joint 29th) also featured.

Video - How the world has changed since Messi or Ronaldo last failed to win the Ballon d'Or



Tottenham striker Harry Kane finished 10th having picked up the World Cup Golden Boot in Russia, where England reached the semi-finals.

He was the fourth-highest Premier League player on the list, with Salah, Eden Hazard and Kevin De Bruyne above him.

Harry Kane (England)

Harry Kane (England)Getty Images

As well as French trio Kante, Pogba and Lloris, the other Premier League players to make the cut were Sergio Aguero (16th), Roberto Firmino (joint 19th), Sadio Mane (joint 22nd) and Alisson Becker (joint 25th).


  • 1. Luka Modric (Real Madrid/CRO)
  • 2. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Juventus/POR)
  • 3. Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid/FRA)
  • 4. Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain/FRA)
  • 5. Lionel Messi (Barcelona/ARG)
  • 6. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool/EGY)
  • 7. Raphael Varane (Real Madrid/FRA)
  • 8. Eden Hazard (Chelsea/BEL)
  • 9. Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City/BEL)
  • 10. Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur/ENG)
  • 11. N’Golo Kante (Chelsea/FRA)
  • 12. Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain/BRA
  • 13. Luis Suarez (Barcelona/URU)
  • 14. Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea/Real Madrid/BEL)
  • 15. Paul Pogba (Manchester United/FRA)
  • 16. Sergio Aguero (Manchester City/ARG)
  • =17. Gareth Bale (Real Madrid/WAL)
  • =17. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid/FRA)
  • =19. Roberto Firmino (Liverpool/BRA)
  • =19. Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona/CRO)
  • =19. Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid/ESP)
  • =22. Edinson Cavani (Paris Saint-Germain/URU)
  • =22. Sadio Mane (Liverpool/SEN)
  • =22. Marcelo (Real Madrid/BRA)
  • =25. Alisson Becker (Roma/Liverpool/BRA)
  • =25. Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid/SLO)
  • =25. Mario Mandzukic (Juventus/CRO)
  • 28. Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid/URU)
  • =29. Hugo Lloris (Tottenham/FRA)
  • =29. Isco (Real Madrid/ESP)