The Ecuadorian, who stormed to a surprise victory in Italy earlier this year, will first have to establish himself as team leader with former winners Nairo Quintana and Alejandro Valverde also named in a strong eight-man team.


Vuelta a España
Blazin' Saddles: The 2019 Vuelta awards – Roglic, QuickStep, Madrazo, Movistar & more
16/09/2019 AT 16:55

It will likely be the 26-year-old's final outing for Movistar before joining Team Ineos in 2020.

'Just look at his face!' - Tears of joy for Carapaz as he claims his first Grand Tour title

Primoz Roglic and Steven Kruijswijk (both Jumbo-Visma) and Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) are among Movistar’s rivals in GC.

Defending champion Simon Yates will not defend his title, with Mitchelton-Scott opting for Esteban Chaves as their protected rider.

La Vuelta, available to watch LIVE on Eurosport and Eurosport Player, runs from August 24 to September 15.

Full Movistar team

  • Alejandro Valverde
  • Nairo Quintana
  • Richard Carapaz
  • Marc Soler
  • Imanol Erviti
  • Nelson Oliveira
  • Jorge Arcas
  • Antonio Pedrero.
Vuelta a España
Wiggins: Roglic's ski jumping mentality behind cycling success
16/09/2019 AT 09:12
Vuelta a España
'I thought second was impossible' - Valverde surprised by his own Vuelta performance
16/09/2019 AT 08:48