Instead the focus is on Estaban Chaves, who claimed third place in 2016, Mikel Nieve (who won stage 16 in 2010) and Luka Mezgec (double stage winner at this year's Tour de Pologne).

New Zealand rider Dion Smith is included for his Vuelta debut.

Tirreno - Adriatico
Van der Poel takes breakaway stage win as Yates retains Tirreno-Adriatico lead
13/09/2020 AT 14:11

Watch the Vuelta live on Eurosport and the Eurosport Player

There are also places for Ethiopian time trial championTsgabu Grmay, as well as New Zealand's Sam Bewley and Australian climber Damien Howson. The antipodeans were teammates in Chaves' 2016 campaign. Australian Nick Schultz is also part of the team.

Fellow Australian Nick Schultz will make his third appearance in the Spanish tour whilst New Zealander Dion Smith makes his debut and adds speed to the ‘exciting’ team line-up.

Mitchelton-SCOTT enjoyed success in 2018's event when Yates won the team's first Grand Tour.

Tirreno - Adriatico
Simon Yates cruises to victory in Stage 5 of Tirreno-Adriatico
11/09/2020 AT 14:58
Simon Yates signs new Mitchelton-Scott deal until 2022
19/08/2020 AT 13:44