Trio accepted by UCI, Europcar miss out

Trio accepted by UCI, Europcar miss out
By Eurosport

22/11/2011 at 14:42Updated 22/11/2011 at 17:24

FDJ, Euskaltel-Euskadi and AG2R will race in the 2012 WorldTour after the UCI confirmed their successful applications, but there was no place for Team Europcar.

The trio join the top 15 teams on the tour but the UCI said that they had rejected Europcar's application.

Geox-TMC, currently fighting to stay in existence, also miss out after they withdrew from the running.

Europcar team manager Bernaudeau remained philosophical about the set-back.

"We've just finished a great season but we are victims of a points system," he said. "There is a global hierarchy, and we must respect it."

Of the top teams, two more, RadioShack and GreenEdge, have yet to have their applications confirmed and the UCI is still waiting on further documentation before rubber-stamping their entry onto the tour.

Katusha and Lotto-Belisol were granted a three-year license by the UCI, FDJ and Omega Pharma-QuickStep got a two-year deal and Saxo Bank one.

Doubts over Vacansoleil-DCM's participation in next year's tour were banished when they were included in the top 15, having been left out of the initial list issued at the beginning of the month.

2012 World Tour teams

AG2R La Mondiale

Astana Pro Team

BMC Racing Team


Euskaltel – Euskadi

Garmin – Cervélo

Katusha Team

Lampre - ISD

Liquigas – Cannondale

Lotto Cycling Project

Movistar Team

Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team


Saxo Bank Sungard

Sky Procycling

Vacansoleil – DCM Pro Cycling Team


GreenEdge Cycling Team

RadioShack – Nissan