Getty Images

Sam Bennett sprints to Stage 1 win in Turkey

Sam Bennett sprints to Stage 1 win in Turkey
By Eurosport

16/04/2019 at 23:22Updated 17/04/2019 at 01:53

Sam Bennett’s stellar start to the year continued unabated at the Tour of Turkey, with the Bora–Hansgrohe’s rider sprinting to Stage 1 victory in Tekirdag.

Bennett, a double stage winner at Paris-Nice this year, latched on to the train of Deceuninck–Quick-Step before powering away from Fabio Jakobsen to take a fifth stage win of the year, with Caleb Ewan (Lotto - Soudal) making up the podium.

Video - Bennett wins Stage 1 of Tour of Turkey in style


The 156.7km ride from Istanbul to Tekirdag was always destined for a bunch sprint finish, and when a six-man break consisting of Alvaro Robredo (Burgos-BH), Lucas De Rossi (Delko Marseille Provence), Lorenzo Fortunato (Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia-KTM), Emerson Oronte (Rally UHC Cycling) Lindsay De Vylder (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise), and Ferit Samli (Turkey) was reeled in with 22km to go, the jostling for position ahead of the finish began in earnest.

Astana, Dimension Data and Deceuninck – Quick-Step all had turns on the front following the decent of the second category climb of the day but it was Bennett who made the decisive move to claim another win in Turkey - his eighth in the last three years.

Position Rider Team Time
1 Sam Bennett (IRL) BORA - hansgrohe 3:32:34
2 Fabio Jakobsen (NED) Deceuninck - Quick-Step "
3 Caleb Ewan (AUS) Lotto - Soudal "
4 Eduard Michael Grosu (ROU) Delko Marseille Provence "
5 Simone Consonni (ITA) UAE Team Emirates "
6 Luca Pacioni (ITA) Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia-KTM "
7 Imerio Cima (ITA) Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizanè "
8 Giovanni Lonardi (ITA) Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizanè "
9 Christophe Noppe (BEL) Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise "
10 Álvaro Hodeg (COL) Deceuninck - Quick-Step "


  • Apr 17-Stage 2 Tekirdag to Eceabat, 183.3 km.
  • Apr 18-Stage 3 Çanakkale to Edremit, 122.6 km.
  • Apr 19-Stage 4 Balikesir to Bursa, 194.3 km.
  • Apr 20-Stage 5 Bursa to Kartepe, 164.1 km.
  • Apr 21-Stage 6 Sakarya to Istanbul, 172.4 km.