Getty Images

Caleb Ewan claims Tour of Turkey Stage 4

Caleb Ewan claims Tour of Turkey Stage 4

19/04/2019 at 21:57Updated 19/04/2019 at 23:16

Caleb Ewan has claimed victory in Stage 4 of the Tour of Turkey, ahead of Juan Jose Lobato and Sam Bennett.

Bennett, who won Stage 1 and Stage 2, finished second on Stage 3 and retains his lead at the top of the overall leaderboard, 24 seconds ahead of his BORA-hansgrohe team-mate Felix Grossschartner.

Ewan, representing Lotto Soudal, made a late dash for first place, overtaking Lobato (Nippo Vini Fantini), with Bennett's late burst proving insufficient to claim his third Stage win of the tour. Fabio Jakobsen backed up his win on Stage 3 with a fifth-placed finish.

Video - Ewan 'steals' win on Stage 4 sprint


In a thrilling finale of the 194.3km Baliksehir-Bursa course, a Manzana Postobon rider attempted to make a break for the lead but crashed, taking out Deceuninck-Quick-Step's Remco Evenepoel with him.

Bennett held the lead but Lobato looked to have done enough to claim victory with a final burst past the Irishman, only for Ewan's late sprint to prove enough to win.

"My team's done a really great job all week and we've committed every day to go for the win and I haven't rewarded them with the win, but I'm happy today to get that one. It was a super tough finish. I can't remember the last time that I went that deep to win a race," said Ewan.

"To be honest, I was on the wheel [of Bennett] and I was already 100 per cent. I was waiting for him to go and he popped a little bit, and I knew that I had to go straight away to catch the guy in front and get the win. Luckily I had enough to do that last sprint."


Position Rider Team Time
1 Caleb Ewan (AUS) Lotto - Soudal 5:21:38
2 Juan José Lobato (ESP) Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizanè "
3 Sam Bennett (IRL) BORA - hansgrohe "
4 Simone Consonni (ITA) UAE Team Emirates "
5 Fabio Jakobsen (NED) Deceuninck - Quick-Step "
6 Sebastián Molano (COL) UAE Team Emirates "
7 Jon Aberasturi (ESP) Caja Rural - Seguros RGA "
8 Enrique Sanz (ESP) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias "
9 Giovanni Lonardi (ITA) Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizanè "
10 Gonzalo Serrano (ESP) Caja Rural - Seguros RGA "