Pomersbach in Queensland squad

Pomersbach in Queensland squad
By Eurosport

04/07/2012 at 14:50Updated 04/07/2012 at 14:51

Sheffield Shield champions Queensland have given a career lifeline to wayward batsman Luke Pomersbach by including the former West Australian in their 20-man squad for the 2012-13 season.

Pomersbach relocated to Brisbane from Perth last season to play club cricket after being dumped by the Warriors for alcohol-related discipline breaches.

The 27-year-old's career looked over when arrested for assault in India while playing in the IPL six weeks ago but he was cleared after charges were withdrawn.

A hard-hitting left-hander who has played Twenty20 cricket for Australia, Pomersbach has been signed to a one-year deal and joins fellow internationals Usman Khawaja and Nathan Hauritz in moving interstate.

Ex-NSW duo Khawaja and Hauritz are among 13 players the Bulls have signed to two-year contracts in a break from a recent tradition of one-year deals.

Queensland's chief selector Trevor Hohns said the time was right to offer more multi-year contracts to a youthful squad.

"We are very pleased with the quality of the playing group that has been assembled," Hohns said.

"Our charter is to produce players for Australian teams and we believe we are providing options for the national selection panel and building the depth of Queensland Cricket at the same time."

Legspinner Cameron Boyce, batsmen Peter Forrest, Joe Burns, Nathan Reardon and Chris Lynn, pacemen Ben Cutting, Cameron Gannon and Alister McDermott, allrounders James Hopes and Michael Neser, and wicketkeeper Chris Hartley have all signed up for the 2012-13 and 2013-14 seasons.

Cut from last season's squad were Ryan Broad, Ben Dunk, Scott Walter, Steve Paulsen and Alex Kemp while Steve Magoffin is playing out his career in England and Chris Swan has retired.

Bulls squad: James Hopes (capt), Cameron Boyce, Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Luke Feldman, Peter Forrest, Jason Floros, Matthew Gale, Cameron Gannon, Chris Hartley, Ryan Harris (CA contract), Nathan Hauritz, Usman Khawaja, Chris Lynn, Alister McDermott, Michael Neser, Luke Pomersbach, Nathan Reardon, Andrew Robinson, Wade Townsend. Rookies - Corey Barsby, Nick Buchanan, Ronan McDonald, James Peirson, Nick Stevens.