England name unchanged squad

England name unchanged squad
By Eurosport

25/06/2012 at 18:52Updated 25/06/2012 at 22:56

England have announced their 14-man squad for the five-match ODI series against Australia beginning at Lord’s on June 29.

The squad is unchanged from the original squad named to face West Indies in the most recent ODI series which saw England win the three -match series 2-0.

Ahead of the start, Ravi Bopara and Alastair Cook have been released to play for Essex against Australia on Tuesday June 26.

Steven Finn and Eoin Morgan have been released to play for Middlesex and Craig Kieswetter will play for Somerset in the Friends Life t20 fixtures also on June 26.

National selector Geoff Miller said: “The series win against West Indies was pleasing and we are making steady progress in one day cricket with a sixth straight series victory on home soil.

"Australia are a strong one day side and I’ve no doubt this will be a challenging series for us and we will need to play some very good cricket over the next three weeks.

"Playing against the number one ranked one day side in the world is an excellent test for us as we look to keep steadily improving  ahead of next summer’s ICC Champions Trophy and the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup.”

England squad

Alastair Cook (Essex) (Captain)

James Anderson (Lancashire)

Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)

Ian Bell (Warwickshire)

Ravi Bopara (Essex)

Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)

Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)

Jade Dernbach (Surrey)

Steven Finn (Middlesex)

Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)

Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)

Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)

Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)


Friday June 29 Lord’s 10.45am

Sunday July 01 Kia Oval 10.45am

Wednesday July 04 Edgbaston 2pm

Saturday July 07 Emirates Durham ICG 10.45am

Tuesday July 10 Old Trafford 2pm