Football - World Football

Schwarzer lands award

Fulham goalkeeper Mark Schwarzer has been crowned the 2010 Footballer of the Year at the second annual Australian Football Awards in Sydney.

Schwarzer lands award - Football - World FootballAFP

It was a big night for the Socceroos international, who also claimed Professional Footballers Association (PFA) Player of the Year honours.

Schwarzer received 392 votes from his fellow professionals, just seven clear of last year's winner Tim Cahill, with AZ Alkmaar attacking midfielder Brett Holman finishing third with 196 votes.

Another goalkeeper, Borussia Dortmund's Mitch Langerak, was awarded the PFA Harry Kewell Medal for best young player ahead of Adelaide United's Mathew Leckie and Utrecht winger Tommy Oar.

PA Sport
    Do not miss
    On Facebook
    On Twitter
    On Mobile
    EurosportCopyright 2014 is available in other languages